Training and Workshops

Primary Debating Workshops

After running full days of coaching with over 3,600 primary students across NSW last year, we're keen to get back into it for 2018! If you haven't been to the workshop days before, they're run by the department's most senior (but also least scary) adjudicators and coaches, and they cover all the things you need to know for primary school debating including rebuttal, arguments, definitions and speakers' roles, as well as a few games and activities and a chance for every single student to give a short debating speech and get some feedback. The days are appropriate for Years 5&6 kids of all levels from beginner to advanced, and are a great way for both students and teachers to learn more about debating and hear from the people who will be adjudicating the finals of the Premier's Debating Challenge in 2018. Below is the information for the days we've arranged so far, and we'll add more days and regions here as the first term of 2018 rolls on. Hope to see you there!

Hunter/Central Coast (download application form here)

Monday 12 February @ Edgeworth Public School
Tuesday 13 February @ Maitland East Public School
Wednesday 14 February @ Adamstown Public School
Thursday 15 February @ Jewells Public School
Friday 16 February @ Hamilton South Public School
Monday 19 February @ Singleton Heights Public School
Tuesday 20 February @ Avoca Beach Public School
Wednesday 21 February @ Mannering Park Public School
Thursday 22 February @ Erina Heights Public School

North Coast (download the application form here)

Monday 26 February @ Lennox Head Public School
Tuesday 27 February @ Alstonville Public School
Wednesday 28 February @ Sawtell Public School
Thursday 1 March @ Laurieton Public School
Friday 2 March @ Forster Public School

South Western Sydney (download the application form here)

Monday 5 March @ St Johns Park Public School
Tuesday 6 March @ Strathfield North Public School
Wednesday 7 March @ Greenway Park Public School
Thursday 8 March @ Robert Townson Public School

Western NSW (download the application form here)

Monday 12 March @ Dubbo West Public School
Tuesday 13 March @ Bathurst Public School
Wednesday 14 March @ Bletchington Public School

Illawarra & South East (download the application form here)

Monday 19 March @ Bungendore Public School
Tuesday 20 March @ Keiraville Public School
Wednesday 21 March @ Shell Cove Public School
Thursday 22 March @ Bowral Public School
Friday 23 March @ Sussex Inlet Public School

New England (download the application form here)

Monday 26 March @ Ross Hill Public School
Tuesday 27 March @ Ben Venue Public School
Wednesday 28 March @ Oxley Vale Public School
Thursday 29 March @ Nemingha Public School

Western Sydney (download the application form here)

Tuesday 3 April @ York Public School
Wednesday 4 April @ Westmead Public School
Thursday 5 April @ Matthew Pearce Public School
Friday 6 April @ Blaxland East Public School

2018 Adjudicator Training

The main course for training of new adjudicators will take place at The Arts Unit, The Boulevarde, Lewisham on Saturday 24 February from 9:00am to 4:00pm.

The workshops are run by highly qualified tutors and will cover all aspects of adjudicating, including Matter and Rebuttal, Definition and Method, and Public Speaking and Manner. An exhibition debate is analysed as part of the course content. Days such as this are an excellent opportunity for both potential adjudicators and those who have been trained previously to learn more about current best practice and then adjudicate in schools with confidence.

Open to: Anyone wishing to adjudicate debating or public speaking competitions organised by the Department of Education and to  current adjudicators wishing to update their skills.
Cost: This is a free event. Morning tea and a light lunch will be provided for all participants. 
Bring: Paper and pen. (New adjudicators will need to bring proof of ID and provide a Working with Children Clearance Number). 
For more information please contact:
Andrew lasaitis, The Arts Unit or email to or phone 8512 1172

Professional Learning

High quality, engaging professional learning, accredited by the NSW Institute of Teachers is available to support all the Art Unit programs.

Students are not the only ones who benefit from participation in Arts Unit activities. Teachers also receive the opportunity for professional development by attending the Professional Learning workshops. NSW public schools teachers can attend targeted professional learning and development workshops where they develop their knowledge and skills about training debating teams and adjudicating skills. This enables teachers to develop their school based debating program and prepare their teams more thoroughly for the state based competitions.