Training and Workshops

Primary Debating Workshops

Last year the Premier's Debating Challenge ran full coaching days for over 3,900 primary students across NSW, and we can't wait to get back to it in 2019! If you haven't been to the workshop days before, they're run by the department's most senior (but also least scary) adjudicators and coaches, and they cover all the things you need to know for primary school debating including rebuttal, arguments, definitions and speakers' roles, as well as a few games and activities and a chance for every single student to give a short debating speech and get some feedback. The days are appropriate for Years 5&6 kids of all levels from beginner to advanced, and are a great way for both students and teachers to learn more about debating and hear from the people who will be adjudicating the finals of the Premier's Debating Challenge in 2019. Below is the information for the days we've arranged so far, and we'll add more days and regions here as the first term of 2019 arrives. Hope to see you there!

Hunter/Central Coast (download application form here)

Monday 11 February @ Edgeworth Public School
Tuesday 12 February @ Valentine Public School
Wednesday 13 February @ Adamstown Public School
Thursday 14 February @ Ashtonfield Public School
Friday 15 February @ The Junction Public School
Monday 18 February @ Singleton Heights Public School
Tuesday 19 February @ Avoca Beach Public School
Wednesday 20 February @ Mannering Park Public School
Thursday 21 February @ Erina Heights Public School

North Coast (download application form here)

Monday 25 February @ Bangalow Public School
Tuesday 26 February @ Alstonville Public School
Wednesday 27 February @ Sawtell Public School
Thursday 28 February @ Hastings Public School
Friday 1 March @ Laurieton Public School

South Western Sydney (download application form here)

Monday 4 March @ Harrington Park Public School
Tuesday 5 March @ Strathfield North Public School
Wednesday 6 March @ Robert Townson Public School
Thursday 7 March @ Greenway Park Public School

Western NSW (download application form here)

Monday 11 March @ Dubbo West Public School
Tuesday 12 March @ Orange Public School
Wednesday 13 March @ Bathurst Public School

Northern Sydney (download application form here)

Tuesday 19 March @ Manly Vale Public School
Wednesday 20 March @ Asquith Public School
Thursday 21 March @ Mowbray Public School

Illawarra & South East (download application form here)

Monday 25 March @ Batemans Bay Public School
Tuesday 26 March @ Keiraville Public School
Wednesday 27 March @ Jamberoo Public School
Thursday 28 March @ Bungendore Public School
Friday 29 March @ Bowral Public School

Western Sydney (download application form here)

Monday 1 April @ York Public School
Tuesday 2 April @ Blaxland East Public School
Wednesday 3 April @ Westmead Public School
Thursday 4 April @ Matthew Pearce Public School

Riverina (download the application form here)

Tuesday 9 April @ Albury Public School
Wednesday 10 April @ Deniliquin North Public School
Thursday 11 April @ Turvey Park Public School
Friday 12 April @ Sturt Public School
Wednesday 22 May @ Parkview Public School
Thursday 23 May @ Griffith Public School

New England (download the application form here)

Tuesday 30 April @ Inverell Public School
Wednesday 1 May @ Armidale City Public School
Thursday 2 May @ Timbumburi Public School
Friday 3 May @ Tamworth Public School

Sydney (download the application form here)

Monday 6 May @ Bonnet Bay Public School
Tuesday 7 May @ Pagewood Public School
Wednesday 8 May @ Orange Grove Public School
Friday 10 May @ Matraville Public School
Monday 13 May @ Engadine West Public School
Monday 20 May @ Lewisham Public School
Friday 24 May @ Peakhurst Public School

Professional Learning

High quality, engaging professional learning, accredited by the NSW Institute of Teachers is available to support all the Art Unit programs.

Students are not the only ones who benefit from participation in Arts Unit activities. Teachers also receive the opportunity for professional development by attending the Professional Learning workshops. NSW public schools teachers can attend targeted professional learning and development workshops where they develop their knowledge and skills about training debating teams and adjudicating skills. This enables teachers to develop their school based debating program and prepare their teams more thoroughly for the state based competitions.

File Attachments: