Years 9&10 Debating Challenge

Latest Competition News

The Premier's Debating Challenge for Years 9&10 has finished up for 2018 with Hornsby Girls High School declared the state champions after defeating Colo High School in the final. We'll get a video up at the bottom of this page soon as we're able, but for now we can tell you that Hornsby Girls successfully affirmed the topic "That schools should have the power to read any and all of their students’ online posts, messages and emails." Congratulations to both teams and all of the students and teachers who worked hard to make the 2018 challenge such a massive event. Look forward to seeing you back again for an even bigger and better 2019 tournament!

Years 9&10 Information

The Year 9&10 Debating Challenge, organised by The Arts Unit of the NSW Department of Education, dates back to 1950 when the Teasdale brothers donated a trophy for a debating competition between North Sydney Region Boys Schools. By 1979 the Teasdale Cup had expanded to include schools from Picton in the south to Wyong in the north. In 1982 it became a state-wide competition.

Competition timetable Topic area
Round 1 to be completed by Friday 18 May (end week 3, term 2) TBA
Round 2 to be completed by Friday 8 June (end week 6, term 2) TBA
Round 3 to be completed by Friday 29 June (end week 9, term 2) TBA
Rounds 4 and 5 to be completed by Friday 27 July (end week 1, term 3) TBA
Zone winners to be finalised by Friday 3 August (end week 2, term 3)  
Regional finals and state quarter-finals to be held in August and September General
State semi-finals to take place in October General
State final to take place on Thursday 8 November at NSW Teachers Federation Conference Centre General

You can see a list of past winners of the competition by clicking here, and you can watch the 2017 final below by either clicking play, or if you prefer you can click here and you'll be taken to Vimeo to watch the debate. There you'll have more options like being able to download the video or jump between speakers by clicking on their times. Congratulations again to these debaters and everyone who made the competition such a success.