Years 7&8 Debating Challenge

Latest competition news

Welcome to the 2018 Premier's Debating Challenge for years 7&8 debating season! Entries for this competition are now open and you can find the form by clicking here.

After such an amazing 2017 we're really looking forward to seeing debaters from across the state utilising their speaking talents. Congratulations again to last year's winners Smiths Hill High School who defeated Kooringal High School in the state final affirming the topic "That we should ban zoos". 

Good luck to all teams for a fantastic 2018!

Years 7&8 information

Founded in 1998 with the support of the Centenary of Federation, this level of the competition originally emphasised the ability of students to research a particular area. In the first few years, these areas were predominantly Australian history and civics. Since 2001 topics have covered a wide range of contemporary issues of relevance to junior secondary students. The ten successful regional teams attend a three day championships camp, including workshops with some of the state's most experienced adjudicators.


Masters AcademyMasters Academy will be the Principal Sponsor of the Years 7&8 division of the Premier’s Debating Challenge for 2017-19 inclusive. 

Established in 2007, Masters Academy offers in-school debating and public speaking coaching services for NSW students as well as NESA-endorsed professional learning for teachers. Their website includes an impressive library of free teaching resources including PDF downloads and podcasts. 

The purpose of this 3-year sponsorship arrangement is to provide regional students with greater access to debating coaching and speaking opportunities. The funds will deliver additional debating opportunities to students in country areas and cover their travelling expenses when attending the state championships in Sydney.

Competition timetable Topic area
Round 1 to be completed by Friday 6 July (end week 10, term 2) TBA
Round 2 to be completed by Friday 10 August (end week 3, term 3) TBA
Round 3 to be completed by Friday 31 August (end week 6, term 3) TBA
Rounds 4 and 5 to be completed by Friday 14 September (end week 8, term 3) General
Zone winners to be finalised by Friday 21 September (end week 9, term 3)  
Regional finals to be held by Friday 9 November (end week 4, term 4) General
Championships to take place from Wed 5 to Fri 7 December, Women's College Various

You can see a list of past winners of the competition by clicking here, and you can watch the 2016 final below by either clicking play, or if you prefer you can click here and you'll be taken to Vimeo to watch the debate. There you'll have more options like being able to download the video or jump between speakers by clicking on their times. Congratulations again to these debaters and everyone who made the competition such a success.