Years 5&6 Debating Challenge

Basic Information

The Years 5&6 competition started out in 1995 as a challenge issued by the primary school debating champion from the Hunter Region to other regional winners, which is why the trophy awarded to the state champion is called the Hunter Challenge Trophy. It's quickly grown since then to become by far the largest age division in the Premier's Debating Challenge, with 763 teams entering in 2016. At every level of the challenge the debates involve 1-hour unassisted preparation, which means that the four team members only find out the topic 1 hour before the debate, and are then given an hour without any help from a teacher or anyone else to prepare their case. After four such round-robin debates and a series of knock-out finals, the remaining ten regional champions meet at a three-day camp for a series of debates to determine the state champion.

2016 State Final

Congratulations to Timbumburi Public School, who won the 2016 championships by defeating Coogee Public School in the final, held at Stanwell Tops Conference Centre on Wednesday 16 November. The champion Timbumburi team is pictured here. They are (from left to right) Zali Humble, Josie Humble, Isabella Bramley and Ava Sullivan.

2016 Timbumburi Winners

Congratulations to them and to the other nine schools who represented their regions at the tournament: Cammeray  PS, Casula PS, Coogee PS, Dubbo South PS, Illaroo Road PS, Hamilton South PS, Hastings PS, Jasper Road PS and Wagga Wagga PS.

You can see a list of past winners of the competition by clicking here, and you can watch the 2016 final below by either clicking play, or if you click on the title you'll be taken to Vimeo to watch the debate. There you'll have more options like being able to download the video or jump between speakers by clicking on their times. Congratulations again to these debaters and everyone who made the competition such a success.